New Learning Environments for 21st Century Learners

1. Designing New Learning Environments to Support 21st Century Skills (PDF, downloadable), chapter by Bob Pearlman, in the new book, 21st Century Skills: Rethinking How Students Learn

2. Presentations

Cyber Summit Webinar, September 21, 2010: From Students to Learners: New Learning Environments for 21st Century Learners, [Powerpoint 2000 file, 1.4 MB].

New Learning Environments for 21st Century Learners , [Powerpoint 2000 file, 2.6 MB], presentation at the 2009 T+L Conference, Denver, October 28-30, 2009

3. Resources

4. Blogs

5. Books

The Language of School Design: Design Patterns for 21st Century Schools,
by Prakash Nair, Randall Fielding and Dr. Jeffery Lackney

David Thornburg, From the Campfire to the Holodeck: Creating Engaging and Powerful 21st Century Learning Environments, Jossey-Bass, October 2013

Order at Amazon or Wiley.

Architecture for Achievement: Building Patterns for Small School Learning, by Victoria Bergsagel and David Stephen
The Third Teacher: 79 Ways You Can Use Design to Transform Teaching & Learning
by OWP/P Cannon Design, VS Furniture, Bruce Mau Design

6. Videos

7. Extended Learning Spaces

Cafeteria as Extended Learning Space at New Tech @ Coppell (Coppell, TX) -- Cafeteria is like a drop-in cafe, serving as another extended learning space and workspace for Learner teams, and especially playing a role when business people visit the school and meet with students or do brown-bag lunches with them.

8. Contact Info for schools profiled in Designing New Learning Environments for 21st Century Skills article

Columbus Signature Academy, 2205 25th Street, Columbus, Indiana 47201
Mike Reed, Principal, Columbus Signature Academy, 812-376-4595, reedm@bcsc.k12.in.us
John E. Rigsbee, CSO Architects, 317-706-2507, jrigsbee@csoinc.net

New Tech High @ Coppell, 113 Samuel Blvd. Coppell, TX 75019
Tabitha Branum. Director, 214-496-5910, tbranum@coppellisd.com
SHW Group

The Met, 325 Public Street, Providence, RI 02905
Elliot Washor, Co-director, Big Picture Learning, 401-374-4664, ewashor@gmail.com

High Tech High, 2861 Womble Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6025
Larry Rosenstock, Chief Executive Officer, 619-243-5000, lrosenstock@hightechhigh.org
David Stephen, M. Ed. / Architect, New Vista Design, 617-477-4660, david@newvistadesign.net

New Line Learning Academy, Boughton Lane, Maidstone, Kent, ME15 9QL, UK
Chris Gerry, Executive Principal, 01622 743286, chris.gerry@newlinelearning.com
Philip Gillard, Gensler, +44 (0)20 7073 9935, philip_gillard@gensler.com

9. Other Innovative 21st Century Schools and Learning Environments

Wooranna Park Primary School, Melbourne, Australia. See Wooranna's Stimulating Learning Platforms.

10. Articles by Bob Pearlman on 21st Century Schools and 21st Century Learning: